Chip Kidd | Designing books is no laughing matter. Ok, it is.

Before I saw this video I always felt that tracing was kind of cheating. I always wanted to have the natural talent of being able to draw freely from my mind, from scratch. Chip Kidd mentions that he traced the t-rex skeleton on the cover of the Jurassic Park book from a textbook (side note: I wonder how exact that tracing was? I assume that he finessed it and made it his own). The design comes in within the concept and the finesse of that tracing, and . I have also had the pleasire of experiencing Identity and Systems Design with Martin Mendelsberg. He helped me grow quite fond of combining photography and tracing to create illustrations. It’s a great way to develop an eye for shapes and become better at illustration in general.

Leave a Reply

